Introducing Me

For days I was trying to think of the best way to introduce myself and write what my blog will be about, but it I found it hard to sum up my intentions in a single paragraph.  How can I describe me?  What is it I want to share?

I guess I could start by saying I’m a girl named Megan from Halifax Nova Scotia who for some time was stuck.  Stuck in a world of fear and “what ifs”, and afraid to live the life I wanted. Everything about life can be trying sometimes, which left me feeling like I could not achieve my dreams.  I was afraid to be on my own, doubting my abilities and always thinking of the worse cast scenario (basically a glass half empty frame of mind).  I had felt this way for a long time, but one day I just snapped out of it.  I realized that I wanted adventure; I wanted to experience the world and what it has to offer. So I started thinking about what I wanted, and what I wanted was to travel. I always wanted to travel and live, work and study in another place, and experience a new way of life and culture. I have always been a visual person. I love seeing things, especially beautiful things because it always changed my perspective and made me realize that not everything in the world is bad or scary.  I came across a quote one day that helped me overcome my fear and it said: “I would rather live a life of “oh wells” instead of “what ifs”. That quote helped me forget about my insecurities and walk to the international activities office at Saint Mary’s University and ask about studying abroad.  

After a few months of applications and reference letters, I got accepted into the program, and chose the Jonkoping International Business School in Sweden to be my place of study. I finally felt good about where my life was headed, and sure there could be bumps along the way but I was just happy to be along for the ride, no matter what the outcome. Sure I could be sheltered and live at home for the rest of my life and have people make decisions for me, but where does that get me?

When it comes down to your life, I realize it’s up to you to live it; it’s me alone and no one else, it’s mono-meg who has to live her life.  And since I am living my life, I thought I should make the most of this period of my life, and keep a blog to document every adventure to Sweden and wherever else I end up in this coming year. So thank you for reading and enjoy the mono-meg experience. 

5 thoughts on “Introducing Me

  1. Go Meg, 😀 Can’t wait to read more! Love that quote by the way– so true!

  2. So happy that you are learning about you and exploring life on your own terms! Love you megalish, looking forward to reading more!!

  3. Awesome Meg! So proud of you, can’t wait to read more 🙂

  4. That’s my girl!

  5. yolo great motto!!!! love reading it

Leave a Reply

