Whirlwind

Image

 

(http://ascendingstarseed.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/quantum-vortex-training-meg-benedicte/)

OK, (insert deep breath here), I’ve had a whirlwind of a month.

A few weeks ago my study abroad advisor emailed me and told me JIBS (Jonkoping International Business School) had sent me my user name and password so I could login to their system and apply. I have already been somewhat accepted into JIBS at this point but I need to make it official and give them all of my information so I can receive an acceptance letter.

That was amazing news, and I was so excited to get home that Friday and officially apply. I logged on and everything was going well until I went to choose my courses. Before I could choose courses I had to get them approved by SMU earlier in the year. I had seen the course catalogue and knew what the school offered for spring semester of 2014 and everything seemed ok. What I did not know was that many classes were cancelled! When I noticed this I was very upset, however it is not the schools fault. I had decided to study abroad with only four courses left to my degree and they are particular courses that I need to complete (so not very smart timing on my part!!)

I talked to my advisor immediately and we tried to think of other options. She got me to look at other possible schools and see what classes they offered, but the schools did not offer classes I needed. She emailed JIBS and asked them about possible options for me which I patiently waited for. However I knew that my dreams of studying abroad were slim to none.

I told my family and friends of this misfortune, and everyone was disappointed, and asked, “Is there any way you can go??” I told them probably not. 

Image

 

(http://mathieujang.com/what-do-you-do-when-your-dream-dies/)

I felt crushed, defeated and hopeless. My dream; all that I worked for, all I had hoped for was all of a sudden gone, just like that. I felt so sad and stressed, and I was taking my frustrations out on others, which was horrible.

After a few days of knowing this and feeling rotten, I called my boyfriend Shane one night and asked if he would come over and keep me distracted. However instead of keeping me distracted, he tried to find a solution to my problem. I kept saying “I CAN’T! OK!?”, in a frustrated tone of voice, but Shane wouldn’t buy it. He said “There is always options” and told me to login to the site and look at the courses that were offered. He thought maybe SMU could make an exception and approve other courses.  I still thought that even if they were approved, they might be too hard because I am not knowledgeable on the subject matter as I am not technically studying business (all I need to graduate is three business electives as part of my Arts degree, and some were more artsy than others). We looked through them together and Shane helped me pick out courses that I could possibly do.  He suggested topics he had studied in university as a business student that he knew I would like.

I felt hopeful that maybe SMU could make an exception and approve the courses, but I thought it was a long shot.  I wasn’t ready to give up just yet. Shane had built up my confidence, so I persevered and filled out the letter of permission form and met with my academic advisor the next day.

I waited (for what seemed like weeks) for two days to hear back from my academic advisor, and I was so apprehensive when they called me into his office. They handed me my letter of permission, and when I looked on the right hand column next to the courses I had neatly printed out, there was a red checkmark of approval by each one and it was signed!!!!!!!! Signed, sealed, delivered, I’m YOURS Sweden!!!

Image(http://www.salemhillsrv.com/rv-photos/)

I am so happy everything worked out. I did not know how I would tell everyone that I wouldn’t be studying abroad, but now I won’t have to (hopefully…fingers crossed for no more obstacles).

It goes to show how important it is to persevere and not give up! I had given up on my dream, but all it took was a little help from family and a great boyfriend! There are always other options! If something doesn’t work out, plan for the next thing, or try and find a solution. It may seem like it’s not worth the hassle, but it is! Always try to make yours dreams a reality, if you don’t, you’ll wonder why you didn’t and think of “what could have been” a few years down the road.

Image    Image

 

(http://diabeticallyspeaking.com/2010/10/21/never-give-up/)

(http://liveyourtruelife.org/do-you-want-to-make-your-dreams-a-reality/)

 

2 thoughts on “Whirlwind

  1. I’m so glad everything worked out for you Meg! That’s fantastic : ) It’s great that SMU is willing to accomodate to the changes made to course offerings so that you can still go and follow your dream : )

  2. Hi Meghan, so delighted to read that Sweden is waiting for you…wonderful news and happy for you to begin your adventure.lots to be thankful for on this wonderful turkey weekend.love to you…enjoying your blog…Anne

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

