Thankful

Image

 Happy Thanksgiving! I know, how cliché. I am going to do the typical post everyone does on thanksgiving to say what I am thankful for…but even though it might be lame and cheesy I think I have a lot to be thankful for so I refuse to ignore my thankful thoughts and share them to you!

 What I Am Thankful For (The Big Ones):

 1. Family. They are there for you through the best of times and the worst of times. You can’t choose who your family is and where you come from, but if you did what fun is that? They are similar and different from me in many ways but even in times of disagreement and chaos we always compliment each other well and each contribute something special to our family dynamic. My family knows me better than anyone and always listens to my “bright ideas” (no matter how crazy), laugh at me when I talk in my sleep (“shiny beads” was uttered one night…I’m just as confused as they are about that one) enjoy my impressions (especially Jamie Oliver – “You got to get your head in the 30 minute meal way!”) and lastly they love me unconditionally. What more could you want? I didn’t get to choose my family, but they suit me in every way. Love you all!

Image 

2. Boyfriend. I’m not trying to be sappy and lovey dovey but I had to mention my boyfriend Shane (I’ll try and keep it short J). Shane has been there for me through absolutely everything. My worst times and my best times, and I feel I owe him forever for being there during those difficult times. He is my best friend and my family and I couldn’t imagine where I’d be without him. Thanks for everything<3

 

3. Friends. Friends are a great comfort to have in life. Always there for a laugh or a shoulder to cry on, and always have great advice for any situation. Some can take bad experiences and make them into the funniest story you’ve ever heard (clown mask). Some are so silly sometimes; they can lighten even the foulest mood (photobooth anyone?). Others are nurturing and always look out for ya (my other mommy). Some can be so random that every conversation and text is the funniest thing on earth (what do you mean by pjamas?). And some can be far away distance wise and still seem like they are close in every way (New Zealand? It’s just down the road!)

So thank you to friends because where would we be without them?

4. My weiner dog Winnie (AKA: DB= doggie baby, Baby, Snooks Pothier, Brat, Cutie, sookie). My dog is my everything…silly I know but she got me through tough times and still helps me feel less stressed everyday. She loves me no matter what and always knows what to do when I’m feeling low or very upbeat! I love when she does double hops because she’s so excited, plays with her stuffed bunny softly, chews bits of Kleenex and leaves them in my bed, thinks my sister Amy lives at the airport and when she flips onto her back when Dad attempts to take her out for P&P (you can guess what that is). Her personality is so sweet and loving that everyone falls in love with her the moment they meet her (just gotta let the barking finish first!).  So I am thankful for her, and I couldn’t wish for a better doggie.

 Image

5. Food and Shelter. I am very thankful to be able to have a place I call home where my family and friends can spend time and eat meals together.  I never take that for granted.

6. My Health. In my life I have had some health scares. I was hospitalized when I was six years old for respiratory problems and had a horrible encounter with mononucleosis (which we thought was something worse as I wasn’t getting better). But with every health scare there came recovery, which I am so thankful for. Being healthy is the most fortunate gift you can receive in life, and I am glad to have overcome my health problems. I never take my health for granted…ever.

 7. Opportunities. I am so thankful for all of the opportunities I have gotten throughout my life. I have been involved in amazing activities, gotten great jobs, had an amazing education, gotten to travel to many countries and now I am getting to study abroad for six months. It doesn’t get much better than this. Part of this was me accepting these opportunities as they came up, and I encourage everyone to take and chance and seize the opportunity – you’ll be happy you did.

Image

 

What I am thankful for (the little things that have a big impact):

 8. Television. I know silly, but I love TV. I can’t deny it (I am just like my Dad – I come by it honestly). TV makes the impossible a reality, and sure people say it’s just TV but I find it’s nice to escape reality for awhile and get immersed in another world whether it be hanging with nerds in the Big Bang Theory or watching vampire love triangles in The Vampire Diaries. It gets me away from my troubles even if it’s only for an hour. So thank you to TV (no matter how silly that is).

ImageImage

 9. Nature. I love being outside in the wilderness (though I could never survive in it if I had to permanently) but I love fresh air, hiking and scenic surroundings.

Image

 

10. Music. My “jams” get me through the day. It can turn my bad mood into happiness instantly. Even if you are sad and want to hate the world, turn on an upbeat cheery song, it does wonders. In the words of ABBA “thank you for the music…who thought that nothing could capture a heart like a melody can…well whoever it was I’m a fan”.

 11. Cell phones. I know what you must be thinking…I need to sort out my priorities, but cell phones have been so important in my life! They connect us to everything I just mentioned on this list. I can talk to my family, friends and boyfriend on my phone wherever they are in the world. I can see my dog on face time or Skype and look at picture of her that I took with my phone. When I’m sick I can look up information instantly on my phone about treatment methods, or call my doctor to book an appointment. I use my phone to seize opportunities and call my piano teacher to set up a music lesson, get a call from an employer for a job interview, or book a plane ticket to Europe! I can watch TV instantly on my phone with various apps that are available. I can look up picture of nature and set them as my screen savor, or take photos on my phone when I’m walking on a trail. I download music onto my phone or watch a music video on YouTube! Phones connect us to many things, and I am very thankful to have this technology.

 There it is, my list of things I am thankful for. My apologies if it is long, but that is only the start of things I am thankful for. I take whatever life has to offer me whether it’s good or bad. I’m alive, and I’m well. We all are one person living each day, so it should be lived to the fullest.  If you have never thought about things you are thankful for, you should start a list now, you will be thankful that you did.

Image

 

http://365barrington.com/2012/11/02/271-what-are-you-thankful-for-2012-thanksgiving-contest/

Leave a Reply

