Bliss of Vacation to the Torture of Exam Week…This Is My Story (Insert Law and Order Music Here)

Greetings!

So you all read that I had a very enjoyable vacation with Shane, however with the end of vacation means back to the usual routine. So after a lovely two weeks with my love, I had to return to Jonkoping with no boyfriend, and a dreadful couple weeks of final projects, presentations and exams…

Image

Luckily I was not alone in this, as all of my friends were experiencing the end of semester blues. However through all the stress came motivation to get our work done with the hope of good marks! So we buckled down; went to the library everyday, booked study rooms, cooked in shifts, whined to each other, and eventually got everything done with success!

Image Image

At Jonkoping University there are two separate times you can write exams. The first is at the end of S1 (spring term one), and the second is at the end of May. This allows you the chance to rewrite an exam if you did poorly the first time. Since there are two slots to write the exam, you can choose which slot you want. In the first few weeks of the term, registration for exams becomes available. You have to register in advance in order to write the exam. I know some people who choose to write the exam at the second slot (procrastination maybe? Or because they have travel plans? Not sure. It’s a preference. Personally, I like to get it done as soon as possible, so I signed up to complete the first slot.

I was all set to write my exam on the 15th of March, and I studied like mad for the whole week. We all had to write the exam in a huge room (which was not at the business school, but at the Education/Communication school). I was freaking out the morning of my exam because I had no idea where my exam was and was frantically trying to look up online where it was. I eventually found it with time to spare, but now I know, don’t assume it will be somewhere you know. Look up the room and physically go to the building and find it before the exam day. It makes for a less stressful situation.

JIBS is very accommodating for students with disabilities, and since I require a reader/recorded questions for my exams, this was set up no problem. My exchange advisor gave me the name of the coordinator for exam accommodations, and I only had to provide documentation about my learning disability and give them the dates of my exam and the particular accommodation I required. Sure enough, they came through and before I started my exam, the teachers gave me an MP3 player with my questions recorded, and I completed my exam no problem.

Actually, I completed my exam rather quickly – only 50 minutes, and I felt satisfied with my answers. We actually had five hours to complete the exam (not that we needed it), but some people do take four hours to write exams. I am always first to finish exams, even when I am back home, which is kind of awkward. I always finish, look up, and see everyone is still writing. I wait 5 or 10 minutes in case anyone else gets up so I don’t either A) look like a loser because I didn’t study hard enough and didn’t know the answers, or worse B) freak everyone else out, making them think I knew everything and having them feel inadequate. I know it’s a silly thought, but I can’t help but worry about it.

Sadly, no one was getting up, so I walked up to the teacher and handed them my exam. I got the usual response…”Do you have a question?” I awkwardly say “no, I’m finished”. Then they make me feel worse by saying “Are you sure you want to pass it in?” I freak out a little inside, but surely say “Yes”.

I walked out of the exam room feeling somewhat good about myself. I felt like the exam wasn’t hard, and that I answered everything really well. It was a mix of true/false, short answer and essay questions, and I wrote quite a bit for each answer. I was reassuring myself the whole walk home that I did fine, and I was just quick and eager to get it done and knew the material well…hopefully.

I still do not know my marks for my classes, but hopefully I did well! I feel satisfied with the effort I put in, so I should stop worrying about it, right?

My friends all got through their exams no problem. Some were less stressed than others, but I find it’s the one’s who don’t stress enough that flunk out (but they don’t seem to mind, probably because they never stress…it’s a strange cycle). I need to learn from them a bit. Sure stress can be good because it gives you that extra push, but too much is horrible. Why can’t there be a happy medium?? Hopefully I’ll get to that point someday.

Image  

I am so glad to be done the first term! Now I’m into the second term, taking International Management and New Venture Development. They are very interesting so far! We only have a couple months until school is done, so I am ready to study hard and finish my degree!!!

It’s been a long few years, but I am finally going to graduate! I am so lucky to have had a great school back home and in Sweden where teachers and staff have helped me every step of the way! I am thankful for them, and also my friends and family who suffered through with me! Thanks to all my friends who studied with me, my parents who supported me and cooked me all the stress food I could eat, Shane for quizzing me on all the material, and my sisters who never let me give up! I think a lot of my success can be attributed to you, so thank you all! I wish I could get a diploma for you too :p

Image  Image

With that I will sign off! Must get back to my studies, but I hope everyone has a good week, and to all the students back in Canada doing exams, good luck! You can do it!

xox Meg

One thought on “Bliss of Vacation to the Torture of Exam Week…This Is My Story (Insert Law and Order Music Here)

  1. keep calm it’s almost graduation day! love it!!11 love mom

Leave a Reply

